05
Feb
09

sick without sick leave

I woke up sick yesterday. And am still feeling crappy today. I certainly wouldn’t have gone in to the office feeling like this, but playing poker when sick is much easier apparently. :) Yesterday I played a whopping 78 tournaments and ended up about $250. I usually play 9 or 10 of them at a time, and the day started pretty bad with several losing sessions of 9 in a row. However, a few hours later things were looking up.

So far today I’ve only played 9. I lost 5 of them. Unfortunately for me, this was the bad luck getting me. Here were the 5 hands I lost the tournaments on. All of these were all in pre-flop.

  • 88 beat by KJo
  • 33 beat by A7s
  • KK beat by A9s when 2 diamonds flopped and a third one came on the turn.
  • 33 on T65J3 board beaten by 74o. I had a SET on the river and still lost. Ugh.
  • Q9 on 4Q342 board beaten by A5o. This isn’t so bad, because I had such a short stack so many people called. I’d have preferred to see an Ace on the river to lose this one.

Anyway, just a sample of what can and does happen frequently. I haven’t seen my pair beat two over-cards in an all-in for quite some time. It’ll happen over time though.

Even though I’m not feeling well, I’m definitely enjoying playing and trying to figure out exactly where to focus. I’ve started reading my poker books again and am already learning.


0 Responses to “sick without sick leave”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.